West Virginia bans indoor tanning by those under 18

CHARLESTON, W.Va.  - The state has outlawed tanning at indoor facilities by anyone under 18.

Owners who offer tanning services face a misdemeanor charge and $100 fine for a first offense.

Second offenses range $250 to $500, and $500 to $1,000 for a third.

This new law supersedes previous legislation on the matter. Previously, children younger than 14 were banned from tanning beds. Anyone 14 to 17 needed parental permission or consent.

Sponsors say medical evidence shows an increased risk of skin cancers from indoor tanning.

The American Cancer Society released this statement:

“Scientific research leaves no doubt of the association between indoor tanning and skin cancer. Given this, we appreciate the enormous step forward West Virginia’s elected officials have taken toward protecting young people from this dangerous activity. This law is an important step forward for public health in this state.

“There is no such thing as a ‘healthy’ tan, so it is important to guard the skin from harmful ultraviolet rays to reduce the risks of skin cancer. We also know that the earlier a person starts tanning, the greater the risk of getting melanoma and other skin cancers later in life.”

SOURCED FROM: WSAZ.COM & WSAZ MOBILE.

title

Content Goes Here